electronics, repairs, service manuals and datasheets discussion community for the repairs professionals and technicians
FAQSearchMembersGroupsRegisterProfilePM'sLogin/Out
Philips 60PP9202 TV chirping noise when powered up

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Electronic equipment repair and service manual search discussion Forum Index -> Equipment Repairs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
reynolds1971

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 11:52 pm    Post subject: Philips 60PP9202 TV chirping noise when powered up Reply with quote

I have a Philips 60PP9202, Chasis # DPTV305F, I recently changed the convergence I/C's on my 60 inch projection screen HDTV. It has worked great for about 6 months, no problems at all. Here the other day when I walked in the room the screen was blank and I heard a chirping/beeping noise coming from the set, and the front red pwr light is on. I am an electronics tech, but I do not know much about tv's, however I am very familiar with semiconductors and most other electronic components, just not some of the tv parts, so please feel free to speak on a technical level. I unplugged some cables and powered on and off to try to isolate where it was coming from. The chirping is coming from the middle board in the set. However when I unplug the back connection from the convergence board to the middle board, I assume high voltage power board, and power back on the chirping stops. Also when I isolate the convergence board the tubes power up and my screen comes up white, only for a few seconds. I was wondering if the convergence i/c's could have gone out again, could it be the power going to the convergence board. I have checked all fuses resistors and diodes on the middle board and they all seem to be ok. I noticed there are some fets on the high middle board. I noticed another multipin semi conductor in the area of the convergence i/c's. Any help would be appreciated......Have a great day! I'll be spinning in circles until I find something or someone