electronics, repairs, service manuals and datasheets discussion community for the repairs professionals and technicians
FAQSearchMembersGroupsRegisterProfilePM'sLogin/Out
How do I limit voltage?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Electronic equipment repair and service manual search discussion Forum Index -> Electronics General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
conmgt

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 4:09 pm    Post subject: How do I limit voltage? Reply with quote

Hello,
First, I am new to this forum and am not savvy in electronics but I am an electrician.
I have a commercial grade wood planer that is 2 years old. There is a large flat metal table that moves up and down by way of 4 spiral shafts chain driven by a 24VDC motor made by Elra. The machine itself is fed by 240VAC 3 phase. There is a small transformer for the DC motor which has an output of 30VAC +/- 4V. Attached to it is a simple PC board with a rectifier (4 posts) and a 50V 10,000mF capacitor. That's it.
The problem is that at one point the 30VAC into the PC board produced 50+ VDC and burned out that 24VDC motor...$400! Now the output is down to 30VDC again. The question is, how did this happen? More important, how do I prevent it? Can I add something between the rectifier and the motor to prevent anything over 30VDC from passing through? I'm thinking some sort of a diode. Should I limit the VDC to 24?
Let's keep it in laymans terms. Thanks
p.s. how did I add an image to this?
torbjorn

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote