electronics, repairs, service manuals and datasheets discussion community for the repairs professionals and technicians
FAQSearchMembersGroupsRegisterProfilePM'sLogin/Out
Mystery Diodes

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Electronic equipment repair and service manual search discussion Forum Index -> Equipment Repairs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
putter

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2005 6:31 pm    Post subject: Mystery Diodes Reply with quote

Well I'm new here and athough I know alot about tube equiptment I have limited knowledge of solid state. I have a Vector Research VR-7000 Receiver that has a burned out pair of power transistors of the 4 that exist and a burned driver transistor so I plan to replace all drivers and power transistors and have found replacements.My question is: there are two components mounted on the heatsink with the 4 power transistors that look like a small ball of epoxy with two long leads and no part numbers.Looking at the parts placement orientation drawings printed on the top of the board they look like they must be diodes and I assume that they must be some sort of protection circuit for the output.Looking in my Pioneer SA-7500 amp I can see they same type of parts mounted on it's heatsink but no part numbers on those either.Can someone Identify these for me so I might find replacements and also how do I test them.They test open with a digital meter set to diode test but so do the ones in the Pioneer amp that is workin fi Question ne. Thanks!
absorbentgnome

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2005 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bipolar amps usually need thermal compensation, to prevent thermal runaway. The particular component you are looking at may conduct above a certain temperature for amp protection, or be a linear device for thermal compensation.
It is fairly unlikely that it is damaged. Perhaps someone else can confirm?
Ray