electronics, repairs, service manuals and datasheets discussion community for the repairs professionals and technicians
FAQSearchMembersGroupsRegisterProfilePM'sLogin/Out
Laptop Power supply not working after 3 seconds

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Electronic equipment repair and service manual search discussion Forum Index -> Computer and office equipment repairs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
romullma

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:52 pm    Post subject: Laptop Power supply not working after 3 seconds Reply with quote

Hi folks.

I hope you can help me with this problem, but first of all I have to say that I'm just a hobbyist of electronic (and do not practice too much).

I have a problem with my laptop AC adapter, it's not working any more, there is no output voltage.

I've observed that I get the 19 output voltage only during 2 - 3 seconds after to have discharged the big electrolytic capacitor. After that, it dies again.

Please, do you know what can I do?, what do I need to test? How?

I can try measuring voltages (eg: I get more than 600 V at the high voltage section), but I have no idea what are the normal values.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks a lot.
Marco R.
torbjorn

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Normally you should not have more than slightly above 300 V anywhere on the primary side of the adapter.

Which make is it? In some cases, laptop chargers use a control signal from the laptop (third wire in the cable) and switches off unless the laptop explicitly demands power.