electronics, repairs, service manuals and datasheets discussion community for the repairs professionals and technicians
FAQSearchMembersGroupsRegisterProfilePM'sLogin/Out
Toshiba LCD no picture

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Electronic equipment repair and service manual search discussion Forum Index -> Equipment Repairs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
chosentestament

PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 8:25 am    Post subject: Toshiba LCD no picture Reply with quote

Hello Guys,

I have a Toshiba 55inch LCD 55G310U that I have been using for about 14 months. It has been working fine up until last month in which it started to have a display issue. This happened around the time we had the small earthquake on the east coast, not sure if this is coincidental.

When I turn the TV it works fine for about 2 minutes but then the screen goes blank, however the sound still works like normal. When I turn the TV off or on it still goes blank after about 1 or 2 minutes...sometimes even 30 seconds.

I tried checking the sleep timer and energy savings setting but it's still doing the same thing, any suggestions?
train123

PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What you need to do next is to check to see if you have a video problem or a backlight problem. When you say the screen goes blank, is there still a faint glow on the screen? Also take a strong light or flash light and shine it on the screen when the picture disappears. Look for faint images of the TV show wherever you shine your light.

If you have a blank screen but there is a faint glow on the screen, your video section is down. Likely a T-Con board.

If you can see faint images using a light, your backlight is gone or the power to the backlight is gone
chosentestament

PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote