electronics, repairs, service manuals and datasheets discussion community for the repairs professionals and technicians
FAQSearchMembersGroupsRegisterProfilePM'sLogin/Out
Pioneer dvf727 won't load discs, not arm alignment
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Electronic equipment repair and service manual search discussion Forum Index -> Equipment Repairs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
srb151



Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 6:54 pm    Post subject: Pioneer dvf727 won't load discs, not arm alignment Reply with quote

I have a Marantz vc8100 (pioneer dvf727) changer. The unit won't load
discs. I reinstalled a slipped belt, but the unit will still not load a disc.
I have the service manual and the service remote. Get an exclamation
point on the display when the play button is pressed. The disc will load
if I manually rotate the gears, but unloads immediately on any command or
reset. Cam to pin alignment is good. and position switch reads 5v-1.8-0v
in the respective load positions. Any thoughts?
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vtech



Joined: 08 May 2006
Posts: 1264
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2014 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In all my years of DVD servicing I never came across a Marantz version but saw many of the pioneers. Don't ever recall seeing the exclamation and just checked against the DVF727 service Man. and there is no mention of it either?
Can you go in to the service mode? Can you see the screen?
All the power supplies present? Can you see anything on the monitor screen?
Beside the common pin alignment, the other failure was mainly the pickup or spindle motor. The fact that is unloading after manual load shows that system control/mode select is working OK. How about the spindle motor? I do remember seeing shorted spindles?
Or may be your eprom may be corrupted?(although it almost always affected power on/menu operation).
How about any of the tact switches that may be stuck?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srb151



Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2014 5:26 am    Post subject: To answer your questions... Reply with quote

vtech wrote:
In all my years of DVD servicing I never came across a Marantz version but saw many of the pioneers. Don't ever recall seeing the exclamation and just checked against the DVF727 service Man. and there is no mention of it either?
Can you go in to the service mode? Can you see the screen?
All the power supplies present? Can you see anything on the monitor screen?
Beside the common pin alignment, the other failure was mainly the pickup or spindle motor. The fact that is unloading after manual load shows that system control/mode select is working OK. How about the spindle motor? I do remember seeing shorted spindles?
Or may be your eprom may be corrupted?(although it almost always affected power on/menu operation).
How about any of the tact switches that may be stuck?

Hi, and thanks.
To answer your questions: The reason I know it's a rebadge pioneer was
after I paid to download the svc manual, I saw I needed the svc remote,
did a search, and found it was a pioneer remote. The pioneer svc manual is
identical. The exclamation point is on the service screen, in the upper right corner. (video output). I forgot to mention that when I am in service mode,
and I force a load (by rotating the gears until the spindle is locked down), the disc will spin up, after a while unload, then reload. Does identify the
disc as a dvd. As near a I can tell,
all info on the service screen is ok until play is pushed and the exclamation point appears. Self test formatting is somewhat unclear in the manual, as
I was getting 03 00 22 00 if I remember correctly. (22 is more than 3 sec
without load switch input). Spindle spins, but not sure as to speed.
Will it fail to load if it senses a fault in the spindle or pickup? Thanks again.
Oh, and the svc display shows no depressed switches on remote or panel
until pressed, which displays the button location (xx,xx) that's pressed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srb151



Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2014 5:34 am    Post subject: p.s. Reply with quote

Missed one question, as to power supplies, The only one I actually
checked was the 5v to the load switch, and the scope of the
carrousel sensor for laughs, pattern was normal, all discs detected
normally, and in proper slots, although voltage was slightly low at
840mv. Don't think that's the problem though. Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srb151



Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2014 1:29 am    Post subject: About service mode... Reply with quote

Something else occurred to me. Since I'm not familiar with service mode
on this system. Will normal operation occur when in service mode?
For instance, when I get the dvd to spin up by a forced load, the blue
screen goes away, as if to play the dvd, but I never get an image under
the service data. Should the disc be playing with the data overlaid on the
screen? Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vtech



Joined: 08 May 2006
Posts: 1264
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2014 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I see. Thought you saw ! on the unit's display.
Get out of service menu and try it with a standard audio CD and see if it's doing the same thing?
Once again post back the exact symptoms as if you were trying to play a disc in normal mode.--(disregard using the service menu)
What is the sequence of OSD shown on the TV screen as you load a disc to play and how does it react mechanically?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vtech



Joined: 08 May 2006
Posts: 1264
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2014 1:50 am    Post subject: Re: About service mode... Reply with quote

srb151 wrote:
Something else occurred to me. Since I'm not familiar with service mode
on this system. Will normal operation occur when in service mode?
For instance, when I get the dvd to spin up by a forced load, the blue
screen goes away, as if to play the dvd, but I never get an image under
the service data. Should the disc be playing with the data overlaid on the
screen? Thanks again.


To the best of my recollection, yes you should be able to see the video superimposed by service menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srb151



Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2014 3:46 am    Post subject: CD startup Reply with quote

Hi, exact sequence with a CD is as follows. Power up, Splash screen on video. Open command. Open appears on screen and fl. Place disc in slot 1.
Press close. Close appears on screen and fl. Carousel spins and fl displays count. displays 1 disc. press play. play appears in fl and onscreen with
spinning disc animation. 1-1-0:00 on second line That's it. no other movement, no attempt to load. no activation of load motor. nothing.
open will bring disc to front and open. play again results in play being
displayed again and no movement.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vtech



Joined: 08 May 2006
Posts: 1264
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like there may be motor driver or perhaps processor issue? Not sure if there would be an easy way to monitor the drive IC load lines w/scope. Let me look at the schematic for more details and I'll post back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srb151



Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 2:07 pm    Post subject: sounds good.... Reply with quote

Thanks again for you're help. The only thing that throws me for a loop
about this is what it does during a forced load in service mode.
As I said, if I manually load the disc and then hit play. the disc will spin
up. After a minute or so, it will unload and immediately reload and
attempt to play again. That's why I was inquiring about what image I should
see in service mode. I wish I knew the operational logic behind all functions.
(i.e., does it look at motor or laser signals BEFORE a load? What inputs are
required to initiate a load operation, etc. ) Let me know what you think I
need to look at next. Just trying to avoid shotguning the unit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Electronic equipment repair and service manual search discussion Forum Index -> Equipment Repairs All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Електроника София - Service Manuals Free Download - Prikachi - Service Diagrams

Free TV Schematics Download - HARDW.net - Pinout Master - Jabse Search - Jabse.InK  - Pulsator

Connector Pinout Forum - Новини - SnimkiOt.com - безплатен DNS - Whois разузнаване - Poblizo.com : пътешествия