electronics, repairs, service manuals and datasheets discussion community for the repairs professionals and technicians
FAQSearchMembersGroupsRegisterProfilePM'sLogin/Out
Philips Plasma 42PF9965 fault - won't switch on
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Electronic equipment repair and service manual search discussion Forum Index -> Equipment Repairs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tim_UK



Joined: 19 Dec 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:27 am    Post subject: Philips Plasma 42PF9965 fault - won't switch on Reply with quote

any suggestions for the following:

3 year old, Philips Plasma, model 42PF9965, with FTR9965 receiver box.

When switching on, set "clicks on", gives pic (black with specs) for 1 second then goes off and red LED indicator light just flashes.

Fault first happened about 2 weeks ago when eventually set came on and had been ok until this week when now will not come on at all.


fault same with FTR9965 not connected so must be with plasma itself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tim_UK



Joined: 19 Dec 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just to add, set switched on after being left with the red LED "blinking" for an hour, I got into the service menu's:

12,262 hours operational hours (seemed high to me)

nothing shown in the "errors"

am tempted to leave the set switched on till at least after christmas.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
runningman



Joined: 26 Dec 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Dec 26, 2006 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got the same fault here, led just flashes red.

did you find a solution?

did you have to do anything to get the service menu other than leave on?

many thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tim_UK



Joined: 19 Dec 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the fault is still on my set - but it seems related to temperature - if I have been out for the day or first thing in the morning no way will the set come on - leaving it with central heating or fire on for an hour - it will then usually come on.

if you get the set on, you can get to service menu by 062596 then menu on the remote, followed by 062596 then i+ on the remote, 00 to exit service menus.

would be really grateful for any advice on this problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
runningman



Joined: 26 Dec 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the response - havn't managed to get mine on.. the led just flashes for hours.

It is in a direct cold draft so I'm going to try moving it to see if that works

keep me posted

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Frank
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I heard this plasmas dont like altitude and humidity also unplug it from the wall outlet for awhile see if it resets.
Back to top
Pacovich
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 9:44 pm    Post subject: 32PF9965 Reply with quote

I have the 32 inches model with the same e-box and perhaps the same problem that you report.
The standby flyback transformer is damaged and it has not enough voltage in the 25 V HOT line that start the supply for the scan and the 8V7 (9V) line is at 6V0 (7V5 at the beginning of the symptoms).
Perhaps there is any problem in the TNY256 chip but it has been design for bombs proof.
The first times the red led flashes the tv set works ocassionally but finally the orange led is on permanently. How many errors: too many to be true. I thougth only in the 3V3 error and I saw the problem in the standby transformer. The flyback transformer is cheap but it is out of stock. We are in the victims of monopoly. Aren't we?
It is a degenerative problem and his related voltages is down. Thus, I suspect of the transformer.
Any other idea?
Back to top
minnie



Joined: 18 Aug 2005
Posts: 2877
Location: Hell

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Plasma's don't have flybacks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
gary



Joined: 05 Apr 2005
Posts: 584
Location: MANCHESTER, uk

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

unlikely to be the tx, replace the caps on the supply rail, they will probably have fallen in value, minnie is right, plasmas dont have flyback transformers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
runningman



Joined: 26 Dec 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi, thanks for the response.

can you translate though, I'm not up on the terminology... what are the caps and where will I find the supply rail?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Electronic equipment repair and service manual search discussion Forum Index -> Equipment Repairs All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Електроника София - Service Manuals Free Download - Prikachi - Service Diagrams

Free TV Schematics Download - HARDW.net - Pinout Master - Jabse Search - Jabse.InK  - Pulsator

Connector Pinout Forum - Новини - SnimkiOt.com - безплатен DNS - Whois разузнаване - Poblizo.com : пътешествия