electronics, repairs, service manuals and datasheets discussion community for the repairs professionals and technicians
FAQSearchMembersGroupsRegisterProfilePM'sLogin/Out
Sony STR-D350Z no sound

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Electronic equipment repair and service manual search discussion Forum Index -> Equipment Repairs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
spat72

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 10:03 pm    Post subject: Sony STR-D350Z no sound Reply with quote

New here! I am not really good at repairs due to little knowledge. I am a former Automotive tech and did quit well with electronics in that area. However audio/video is out of my league. I have a STR-D350Z reciever that has no sound. If I select tuner and crank it up all the way I can hear a little of my input source regardless of the port it is connected to. If I select the source it is connected to there is no sound at all. Lost the remote so can't check for mute. However the manual claims mute will be displayed on panel if activated and is not displayed on panel. Not sure what happened but it was working one night when going to bed and not working when I got up. I leave system on most of the time. I used it for all audio. TV, Computer, Radio, CD, ETC.. I opened the unit looking for a fuse but found non. I don't see any obviouse burned components any where. I considerd cleaning the volume rehostate but not sure how that should be done on modern equipment. I find it odd that the tuner when selected plays sound of other input but not radio sound. My guess is something crossed up with input selections? I see some yellowing on the board under each chip but nothing drastic. I went to pawn shop for a replacement, that was a joke! I couldn't believe the prices they wanted for stuff. I noticed many items for near the same price as new but these items where 10-20 years old. Some even higher than new! Like a Sony reciever, I don't know the modle, probably 15+ years for $233 not even surround sound. A JVC sta