electronics, repairs, service manuals and datasheets discussion community for the repairs professionals and technicians
FAQSearchMembersGroupsRegisterProfilePM'sLogin/Out
Kustom Amplifier, need help with troubleshooting

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Electronic equipment repair and service manual search discussion Forum Index -> Equipment Repairs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Dimarino

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 10:55 pm    Post subject: Kustom Amplifier, need help with troubleshooting Reply with quote

Hello,
I´m new to this forum and you could say that im new to electronics as well. So please be gentle! Wink

Basically i need help troubleshooting a KPM 7250 (old model) kustom PA amplifier. Even if you don´t know the exakt model, it´s just very basic electronic stuff.

In the master section it has a pot which says "tape in/aux", which probably affects the mono aux in and the stereo phono input (tape in)

The problem is that the tape in/aux pot doesnt affect the aux at all, which is always on full, and you can only hear a tiny bit of the "tape in" signal when the pot is turned to 0, when i turn it towards 10 the signal disappears.

I have checked for loose cables and any "obvious" problems and everything seemed to be fine. So, my question is then where do I start looking at?

More info:
* Everything else is working as it should, all other inputs and the master section in general.
* I don´t think its either the resistors or capacitors since it should be more or less dead then. Am i right?
* The pot output goes to an IC (4556? maybe) which i believe might be the ugly one in this case.

.. But then since i don´t want to order another IC and change it without being shure that it is problem. How do I check it´s working properly with a basic multimeter?

Thanks alot in beforehand

Regards /Dimarino
vtech

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 1:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KPM7250 is still a valid model number but perhaps yours is slightly different?