electronics, repairs, service manuals and datasheets discussion community for the repairs professionals and technicians
FAQSearchMembersGroupsRegisterProfilePM'sLogin/Out
reducing amps

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Electronic equipment repair and service manual search discussion Forum Index -> Electronics General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ronx

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:51 am    Post subject: reducing amps Reply with quote

I have some electronics knowledge, but not dealing with large amounts of current.

I have a device I want to put into a car that runs on the battery (12V 70ish amps) But i olny want to give the device 20 amps at 12V

So what do i need to reduce the amps from 70 to 20?

Thanks in advance.

-RonX
torbjorn

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, what for kind of a device is it? What determines its current consumption? Now, when it draws 70 A at 12 V, this means a power consumption of 840 W, can the device fulfill its duty when it is not allowed to consume more than 240 W ?
PackratKing

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok.........curve ball..........Isn't the keyword here "draw"....?

Doesn't a device hooked to any proper voltage source, only draw what [ current ] it needs to operate at peak efficiency ?

hooking up a source that is overvoltage would be the reason something would fry...?

Or do I need to go back to my textbooks ?
Phils

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know this is an old post but it's a simple question with a simple answer so it should be unneccessary to leave it unanswered.

Wether the secret device is an amplifier or a dc/ac converter doesn't matter, they behave in the same way. They only draw what you command them to, up to a maximum of 70 Amps.
Granted, they also draw a base current, something like an Amp or two at most.