electronics, repairs, service manuals and datasheets discussion community for the repairs professionals and technicians
FAQSearchMembersGroupsRegisterProfilePM'sLogin/Out
samsung le40r51b inverter fault?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Electronic equipment repair and service manual search discussion Forum Index -> Equipment Repairs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
taloola

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 10:49 pm    Post subject: samsung le40r51b inverter fault? Reply with quote

am trying to test an inverter on a samsung le40r51b and i am getting strange results,the drawing below is the connections on the 2 identical inverter boards and there values.when i switch on i get 24v on 1-5, eth on 6-10, nothing on 11, 4.7v on 12, 2.7v on 13 and 3.3v on 14 and the backlight switchs on.after about 8 secs the backlight turns off but the voltages all stay the same as before.i have little experience of inverters but would have expected the on/off voltage to change when the light goes off.
there are 40 transformers and when i test i get continuity accross terminals 1-5 but open circuit across terminals 6&7 on all 40 transformers (2 transformers per tube)(my meter is working ok)

anyone have any ideas or info on testing, am i testing correctly
vtech

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not familiar with the specific set but you are looking at it correctly provided there are no other external connections. (Also make sure to monitor the same pins before the light goes off to rule out a quick change/recovery)Therefore, based on your readings, trouble has to be within the inverter pcb or may be the FL lamp?(unlikely)
As far as the txformers, chances of all 40 being bad is next to impossible.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote