electronics, repairs, service manuals and datasheets discussion community for the repairs professionals and technicians
FAQSearchMembersGroupsRegisterProfilePM'sLogin/Out
Dell 1801fp flat panel monitor power supply problem

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Electronic equipment repair and service manual search discussion Forum Index -> Equipment Repairs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
xxjakextxx

PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 7:07 pm    Post subject: Dell 1801fp flat panel monitor power supply problem Reply with quote

My dell monitor just died recently, no power.
I am a beginner at electronic repair hope if someone is an expert in this field could give me a few pointers, your help is greatly appreciated.

so here is what i have done so far.

i've opened it up and taken out the power supply/inverter board.

after a few testing it seems the 12V and the 5V from the power supply going to the logic/main board has a lot lower voltage than 12V and 5V. i think they were 2V and ~8V--> this lead me thinking that the problem is within the power supply board.

but thats all i know, all the electrolyte caps on the power supply looks normal and nothing looked burned.

can somone please point me to the next step on what to test in order to troubleshoot the problem??
jts1957

PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do the 5 and 12 volts go up if power supply/inverter board is unplugged from logic/main?
xxjakextxx

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jts1957 wrote:
Do the 5 and 12 volts go up if power supply/inverter board is unplugged from logic/main?

no, i actually tested the power board with out connecting them to the mainboard and the voltage is below 5v and 12v.

i was thinking could it be the power fet, the switch mode power supply, or the secondary diodes, based on some research i did on google. but the thing is i have no idea to test any of these parts.

any suggestions?

thanks in advance
jts1957